What should I do?

Hey,
This isn’t my usual thing but I really need help. I have a friend whose going through a lot right now and I don’t know how to help her. She’s recently been diagnosed with depression and has moved away from home. She’s losing focus in school work and her life goals. Her recent injury has physically disabled her to write which is really bad because she can’t take notes in class. I don’t know how to help her. She say she doesn’t need help but she does. She’s crying a lot, almost emotionally unstable. Those who have been observant are concerned for her but how do you make someone happy when they’re unhappy? How do you help them? I know I’m not the right person she’s going to but I don’t know what else to do. I think I’m being a really bad friend by keeping it all to myself but I don’t want to lose her trust in me by telling someone. I just want her to be happy again. I want everyone to be happy because I enjoy other peoples happiness. When people suffer, it stresses me. They tell me and I usually give them the most cliche response you can think of. I suck at these things because I’m selfish, I don’t usually think about other peoples problems. Usually I have my own to deal with but I don’t want to be a selfish person (it may be in my nature) but I won’t allow it to define me. Maybe what I’m doing right now is selfish because I have not asked her permission to post this. I hope she doesn’t find this or if she does, know that I’ve kept it anonymous. Anonymity is quite powerful. I’m sure you know that already.
If she does feel like I’ve betrayed her, I’m sorry, I was only trying to help.
Please take care of yourself.
Love Always,
Your Friend.

Leave a Reply

